Past Fellowship and Scholarship Recipients Skip Navigation

Past Fellowship, Scholarship, and Grant Recipients

Each year, students receive a variety of national fellowships, scholarships, and grants. If you are considering applying, you may find it helpful to explore their examples. 
Jess Chow in Shanghai world expo


Fulbright recipients are granted one year to study, conduct research, or teach in one of 150 countries.

2017 recipients
Kevin Iglesias '17 -- Brazil research grant
Amanda Liberman '17 -- Kazakhstan ETA

2016 recipients
William Andrews '16 -- Germany ETA
Carolyn Skelly '16 -- Germany ETA

2015 recipients
Alexandria Dyer '14 -- Ghana research grant
Susanna Meyer '15 -- Mexico ETA

2014 recipients
Neal Barsch '14 -- Philippines research grant
Margaretta Burdick '14 -- Turkey ETA
Emma Ellis '14 -- Mongolia ETA
Jessica Hall '14 -- South Korea ETA

2013 recipients
Anna Bivins '13 -- Sri Lanka ETA
Kiera Crowley -- China research grant

2012 recipients
Kathryn David '12 -- Ukraine research grant
Andrew Lorraine '12 -- Slovak Republic ETA
Lauren Shiveley '12 -- Taiwan ETA
Joshua Smeltzer '12 -- Germany ETA

2011 recipients
Michael Abrahamson '11 -- Slovak Republic ETA
Emily Casey '07 -- Bulgaria ETA
Paige Cross '11 -- Ecuador ETA
Andrew Giandomenico '11 -- Slovak Republic ETA
Lauren Graves '11 -- Taiwan ETA
Ashley Hill '11 -- Japan research grant
Sarah Hilzinger '09 -- Israel research grant
Alexandra Pons '11-- Spain ETA
Eugene Riordan '11 -- Thailand ETA

2010 recipients
Victor Chiapaikeo '10 -- Indonesia ETA
Jessica Chow '09 -- China research grant
Max Counter '10 -- Colombia ETA
Matthew Geduldig '10 -- South Korea ETA
Julia Quintanilla '10 -- Mexico ETA
Alison Wohlers '10 -- Morocco research grant
Tara Woods '10 -- Germany ETA

2009 Recipients
Thomas Ellison '09 -- Jordan ETA
Jacquelyn Harris '08 -- Germany ETA
Sarah MacKenzie '09 -- Indonesia ETA

Udall Scholarship

50 scholarships and 50 honorable mentions are awarded each year to sophomores and juniors committed to careers related to the environment, tribal public policy, or Native American health care. 

2015 recipients

2013 recipients
Brian Lemanski '14 -- Honorable Mention

2012 recipients
Jessica Halter '13 -- Honorable Mention

Critical Language Scholarship (CLS)

The CLS is a program of the U.S. Department of State. It offers intensive summer language institutes in 13 critical foreign languages.

2014 recipients
Sarah Collins '14 -- Arabic
Kayla Gressel '14 -- Hindi
Morgan McCollum '14 -- Chinese

2013 recipients
Dave Esber '13 -- Arabic
Coco Vonnegut '13 -- Hindi

2012 recipients
Sarah Collins '14 -- Arabic

2011 recipients
Kiera Crowley '13 -- Chinese
Margaret Dunne '13 -- Bangla/Bengali

2010 recipients
Margaret Dunne '13 -- Bangla/Bengali

2009 recipients
Elizabeth Sadler '09 -- Urdu

Benjamin A. Gilman International Scholarship

The Gilman Scholarship provides awards for U.S. undergraduate students to participate in study and intern abroad programs worldwide.

2018 recipients
Fjordi Mulla '19 -- Switzerland

2017 recipients
Haley Allen '18 -- Argentina
Kadian Dixon '18 -- Jamaica
Saleh Zaher '19 -- Morocco

2016 recipients
Louise Zhang '18 -- South Korea

2014 recipients
Hailey Savage '16 -- China

Watson Fellowship

The Watson Fellowship is a $30,000 award for independent exploration and travel on a topic of interest to you outside the United States for one year after college graduation.

2015 Recipients
Sohee Ryuk '15 -- Unveiling the Layers of Identity: Ethnic Koreans in the Former Soviet Union

2013 Recipients
Srikar Gullapalli '13 -- Government for the People: Local Accountability Structures and Political Dialogue
Rebekah Ward '13 -- Unraveling Bias and Conviction: Roma Cultural Communication and Activism

2010 Recipients
Shae Frydenlund '10 -- The Yarsagumba Effect: Documenting the Ecology of Medicinal Plant Markets
Jennifer Rusciano '10 -- Bittersweet: Exploring the Light and Dark Sides of Cocoa Production

2009 Recipients
Sachiko Schuricht '09 -- Cubing Across Cultures: Documenting the Rubik's Resurgence

Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship

The Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship is awarded to college students who intend to pursue research careers in the fields of science, mathematics, and engineering.

2012 recipients
Eric Taber '13 — Honorable Mention

2011 recipients
Karen Alley '12 — Honorable Mention
Weston Testo '12 — Honorable Mention

2010 recipients
Meghan Healey '11 — Honorable Mention

2009 recipients
Victoria Martucci '10 — Honorable Mention

DAAD Graduate Study Scholarship

Provides one academic year of funding to pursue a master's degree at a German university or conduct independent research in Germany.

2015 recipients
Joshua Smeltzer '12

DAAD RISE (Research Internships in Science and Engineering)

RISE is a summer internship program for undergraduate students from the United States, Canada, and the UK in fields of biology, chemistry, physics, earth sciences, and engineering.

2014 recipients
Wil Lieberman-Cribbin '14

DAAD Summer Course Grant

This program funds a three- to four-week summer course at a German university which focuses mainly on German language and literary, cultural, political, and economic aspects of modern and contemporary Germany. 

2013 recipient
Christopher Wendt '13

Freeman-ASIA Grant

This award provides funding for US undergraduates to undertake study abroad programs in East and Southeast Asia.

2017 recipients
Elizabeth Gonzales '19 -- China
Louise Zhang '18 -- Korea

Projects for Peace Grant

This grant provides a $10,000 award for a summer project that will focus on the study and amelioration of contemporary conflicts and on efforts to resolve them.

2017 Recipient
Georgia Butcher '17 and Emma Schoenberger '17

2016 Recipient
Woohee Kim '18

2015 Recipient
Ewa Protasiuk '15 and Sarah Wooton '15

2014 Recipient
Sarah Dickson '14 and Michelle Van Veen '14

Rangel International Affairs Graduate Fellowship

This fellowship offers funding for two-year graduate programs in international affairs, mentorship within the US State Department, paid internships and other professional development, all to facilitate entry into the US Foreign Service. 

2016 Recipient

American India Foundation (AIF) Clinton Fellowship

This fellowship offers 10 months of field work in India to gain knowledge of development on the ground in fields of education, livelihoods, public health, and social enterprise. 

2013 Recipient
Coco Vonnegut '13